टी.एम.यू. न्यूज़

Teerthanker Mahaveer University Organized 3rd Convocation

April 18, 2015 became a memorable day for young students of various disciplines of the University when they were rewarded with the fruits of the hard work in the 3rd Convocation organized on Saturday at 10:30 at the University Campus. Justice K. G. Balakrishanan, Chairperson, National Human Rights Commission and Former Chief Justice of India was the Chief Guest of this grand celebration. The Chief Guest and other dignitaries formed part of the Convocation procession of learned scholars and teaching fraternity from various colleges and departments of the university.

A warm welcome was extended and Convocation was declared open by Hon'ble Chancellor Shri Suresh Jain. A galaxy of eminent educationists and scholars were present on the occasion. Shri Manish Jain, Group Vice Chairman, Shri Ashok Mittal & Shri Vishal Sehgal, Member, Executive Council, Prof. J. B. Jain, Controller of Examination were also present on the dais. Prof. Rakesh Kumar Mudgal, Vice Chancellor, presented Annual Report of the University before the august gathering and elaborated the achievements and progress made during last two years by the University. The details given brought feelings of contentment and pride reflected in rounds of applause. The ceremony started with conferment of Honoris Causa degree by the Hon'ble Chancellor. Honoris Causa degrees of "Doctor of Philosophy" were conferred upon Shri Punam Suri, a veteran journalist and Chancellor of DAV University, Jalandhar in the light of his outstanding contribution to the social development through value based education and Shri Vallabh Bhanshali, Co-founder and Chairman ENAM Group, Mumbai in recognition of his outstanding contribution in development of country's capital market. The citations depicted and highlighted the benevolent performance of these two philanthropists. In the Interactive Session held on eve of the Convocation, the Honoris Causa degree recipients gave Success Mantra to the students of the University.

Thereafter, Ph.D. degrees were awarded by the Vice Chancellor, to Ms Vandana Bagla, Ms. Rashmi Jha & Mr. Indranil Bose for their research work in Maths, Computer Applications and Management respectively. For the session 2012-13 and 2013-14, 241 students received the academic excellence awards by way of Gold, Silver and Bronze, while 5427 students graduated in various disciplines.

Addressing the students as young Intellectuals in the Convocation, Shri Punam Suri emphasized the need to help the uneducated masses as well as to eradicate the menace of poverty, illiteracy and ignorance from our Mother land. Speaking on the occasion Shri Bhanshali, called upon the students to prove their worth and ability in this competitive and complex corporate world as practical life demands wisdom, prudence and dedication along with knowledge and reminded that there is no substitute of good education, hard work and cultured conduct. Shri J. K. Jain, Hon'ble Visitor, Teerthanker Mahaveer University reminded the student fraternity to be bold enough to face the challenges of life and to march ahead, taking the difficulties in their stride.

In his Convocation address, Chief Guest, Justice K. G. Balakrishanan, exhorted the students to work hard for progress, prosperity and achievement of their goal in life. He appreciated growth of the University in terms of repute as well as infrastructure, which can contribute to make India evolve as a giant in technical and health education globally. The Chancellor Shri Suresh Jain in his address, emphasized the need of quality education and special efforts made for development of society and progress of the Nation. He expressed his earnest desire to make University a hub of academic & research activities so as to be recognized as most sought after university. He called upon the students and teaching fraternity to work strenuously for achievement of the goal in light of Mission and Vision of the University.

The Convocation concluded with a vote of thanks proposed by Controller of Examination and the return of the academic procession.