TMU Inter School Cricket Championship 2023

The grand event took place from October 30 to November 2, 2023. The event was hosted by the TMIMT College of Physical Education, a part of TMU. Teerthanker Mahaveer University: one of the top universities in India. The chief guest for the day was Mrs. Shwetangana Santram, the Principal of Wilsonia Scholars, who graced the occasion with her presence.

Distinguished Attendees 

Several notable individuals were present at the event, including Joint Registrar (R&D) - Dr. Jyoti Puri, Joint Director of Admission Cell - Mr Avnish, Principal of Education - Prof. Rashmi Mahrotra, and TMIMT CPE faculty members, including Dr Yogendra Sharma, Touheed Akhter, Yash Chandra Gangwar, and Unmesh Utthasani. Additionally, students and coaches from various schools, as well as enthusiastic spectators, added to the vibrant atmosphere.

Purpose of the Event

The event aimed to foster and recognise the emerging talent among school pupils in the Moradabad region. It was not just a competition but also an opportunity to encourage young athletes to pursue their passion and excel in Cricket.

The Teams and The Exciting Matches

The tournament saw two exceptional teams compete for the championship title. The runner-up was the team from Nirmal Public School, Bijnor, while the winners were The Aryans' School Joya.

The final match was a thrilling encounter. The Aryans' team, captained by Mohd. Arsh won the toss and chose to bat first. They set a formidable target, scoring 176 runs while losing 8 wickets in 20 overs. Captain Mohd. Arsh played a stellar innings, notching up 52 runs in just 29 balls. He also contributed with the ball, taking 3 crucial wickets. His performance earned him the title of Man of the Match.

Outstanding Performances

The Aryans' Ayaan was the star of the tournament, scoring an impressive 129 runs and being crowned the Best Batsman of the Tournament. On the other side, Nirmal Public's Shubh stood out as the Best Bowler of the Tournament, claiming a remarkable 6 wickets.

Chasing the target, the team from Nirmal Public School, Bijnor, was bowled out for 91 runs in 17.4 overs. For Nirmal Public, Naman Chauhan was the highest scorer with 22 runs in 18 balls, while Kunal took 2 wickets. The Aryans secured a well-deserved victory, becoming the TMU Interschool Cricket Tournament champions.

Trophies and Certificates Distribution

The tournament organizers recognised the efforts of all players by distributing trophies and certificates to both winning and runner-up teams, adding a sense of accomplishment to all participants.

The Chief Guest's Perspective

Mrs. Shwetangana Santram, chief guest of the event, highlighted the importance of Cricket in keeping individuals physically fit and healthy. She emphasized how team Cricket cultivates values such as team spirit, leadership, cooperation, unity, stamina, and support among players.

Notable Presence in Closing Ceremony

The closing ceremony saw the participation of various distinguished individuals, including Joint Director of Admission, Shri Avnish Pawaria, Joint Registrar of Alumni Relations Cell, Prof. Nikhil Rastogi, Joint Registrar of Research and Development, Dr. Jyoti Puri, Principal of Faculty of Education, Prof. Rashmi Mehrotra, and Principal of College of Physical Education, Prof. Manu Mishra.

Appreciation and Acknowledgment

The TMU Inter School Cricket Championship 2023 was an extraordinary showcase of talent, Cricketmanship, and camaraderie. The tournament witnessed the hard work and dedication of 16 teams from the Moradabad division. Prof. Manu Mishra, the Principal of Physical Education, expressed his gratitude to everyone who made the event a grand success. It not only provided a platform for young athletes to exhibit their skills but also celebrated the spirit of Cricket and competition.